Agree Agree:  47
Likes Likes:  208
Page 1 of 82 12345112651 ... LastLast

Let's Discuss Science

Thanks Ponchi101 for the idea!

I think this thread would make a lot of sense, since it would be a place to come to see and read more about down to earth things that we can understand (or try to understand if unfamiliar). To me personally, (and I am not a scientist) science is more beautiful and elegant than any fiction I have ever read. The more you read, the more you realize how truly mysterious, weird and wonderful our universe is.

I will start with some great news that was released today by NASA.

This is about Kepler Space Telescope that is searching for planets around other stars and has capability of detecting earth sized planet in habitable zone...

http://kepler.nasa.gov/news/nasakepl...News&NewsID=98

Here is NY times article
    http://www.nytimes.com/2011/02/03/sc...er=rss&emc=rss
    Last edited by Vlad; 02-02-2011 at 12:34 PM.

Re: Let's Discuss Science

Btw, anyone can participate in potential discovery of new planets on this website:

http://www.planethunters.org/

The way it works, is basically you see a light curve of a specific star for a specific period (like a month) and you will look at systematic star dimming which could mean a lot of things, one of which is a planet passing in front of it.

Science tells us, as Vlad says, that light isn't everlasting because fuel sources literally burn out.

But is there anytime where there as been no light? Is there a predicted time where all fuel sources will simultaneously be lacking that there will be no light?

Quote Originally Posted by craighickman View Post
    But is there anytime where there as been no light? Is there a predicted time where all fuel sources will simultaneously be lacking that there will be no light?
    Perhaps you want to open a philosophy thread, craig?
    Roger forever

Science tells us, as Vlad says, that light isn't everlasting because fuel sources literally burn out.