Agree Agree:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Yahtzee Question

    I played a game not long ago and got like 3 or 4 yahtzees in the game. When you score in "real" yahtzee, you can substitute your second, third, etc. yahtzee for another score like a small or large straight, plus you get a bonus 100 points. Why doesn't this work on our yahtzee game?

    TA
    My Beloved Mother

  2. #2
    Forum Director
    Forum Moderator

    Awards Showcase

    dryrunguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    South Central PA
    Posts
    53,200
    Blog Entries
    11

    Re: Yahtzee Question

    Quote Originally Posted by TennisAnyone74 View Post
    I played a game not long ago and got like 3 or 4 yahtzees in the game. When you score in "real" yahtzee, you can substitute your second, third, etc. yahtzee for another score like a small or large straight, plus you get a bonus 100 points. Why doesn't this work on our yahtzee game?



    TA
    I have no idea, TA. As far as I know, we more or less "borrow" the games and add them to the arcade. We have no way of manipulating how they work. At least that's my understanding.
    Winston, a.k.a. Alvena Rae Risley Hiatt (1944-2019), RIP

  3. #3
    Head Cheese
    Awards Showcase

    Kirkus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    37,746
    Blog Entries
    10

    Re: Yahtzee Question

    Quote Originally Posted by TennisAnyone74 View Post
    I played a game not long ago and got like 3 or 4 yahtzees in the game. When you score in "real" yahtzee, you can substitute your second, third, etc. yahtzee for another score like a small or large straight, plus you get a bonus 100 points. Why doesn't this work on our yahtzee game?

    TA
    Quote Originally Posted by dryrunguy View Post
    I have no idea, TA. As far as I know, we more or less "borrow" the games and add them to the arcade. We have no way of manipulating how they work. At least that's my understanding.
    Dry's correct. The games we install in the arcade are simply the way they are.

    I thought the same thing, TA, when we first installed Yahtzee. I come from a family of Yahtzee players and it was a little disappointing when I first played our arcade version. But now that I've gotten used to it, I'm hooked anyway.
    Oh Grigor. You silly man.

  4. #4

    Re: Yahtzee Question

    Quote Originally Posted by TennisAnyone74 View Post
    I played a game not long ago and got like 3 or 4 yahtzees in the game. When you score in "real" yahtzee, you can substitute your second, third, etc. yahtzee for another score like a small or large straight, plus you get a bonus 100 points. Why doesn't this work on our yahtzee game?

    TA
    You get 3-4 yahtzees in a game?
    A Canadian Slam winner? Inconceivable!

  5. #5

    Re: Yahtzee Question

    Quote Originally Posted by ptmcmahon View Post
    You get 3-4 yahtzees in a game?
    I got 4 Yahtzees once as well....and LOST the tournament match so it is not that useful unless you get 5's and 6's.

  6. #6
    Head Cheese
    Awards Showcase

    Kirkus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    37,746
    Blog Entries
    10

    Re: Yahtzee Question

    Quote Originally Posted by tennisbrp View Post
    I got 4 Yahtzees once as well....and LOST the tournament match so it is not that useful unless you get 5's and 6's.
    Exactly!!
    Oh Grigor. You silly man.

  7. #7
    Forum Director
    Forum Moderator

    Awards Showcase

    dryrunguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    South Central PA
    Posts
    53,200
    Blog Entries
    11

    Re: Yahtzee Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Kirkus View Post
    Exactly!!
    I only get Yahtzees of 5s and 6s when I already have my Yahtzee, my 5s, my 6s, my 4 of a kind, my 3 of a kind and Chance... But really need two 2s to get the 35 points up top.
    Winston, a.k.a. Alvena Rae Risley Hiatt (1944-2019), RIP

  8. #8
    Head Cheese
    Awards Showcase

    Kirkus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    37,746
    Blog Entries
    10

    Re: Yahtzee Question

    Quote Originally Posted by dryrunguy View Post
    I only get Yahtzees of 5s and 6s when I already have my Yahtzee, my 5s, my 6s, my 4 of a kind, my 3 of a kind and Chance... But really need two 2s to get the 35 points up top.


    I understand.
    Oh Grigor. You silly man.

  9. #9
    Senior Staff
    Forum Moderator

    Awards Showcase

    luvs10s's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    4,288
    Blog Entries
    3

    Re: Yahtzee Question

    I must be doing something wrong - I don't think I've ever thrown a Yahtzee :sad:

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •