PDA

View Full Version : Wrist Flick....

missinandre
04-04-2010, 12:55 PM
Okay, I told my son that of COURSE someone on TAT would have some advice for him!

Brandon has made his high school tennis team but he is just learning how to play. He's made amazing progress in three weeks but a big issue now is...Brandon is having difficulty controlling the "flick" of his wrist when he takes a swing.

Any advice for him in this regard? Something to help him......he usually practices between 2 1/1 hours to 3 hours every day save Sunday and on days when he has matches, he only practices for 1 hour....

Right now...he has pain in his wrists and is still trying to practice....

munchin
04-04-2010, 02:32 PM
I'm probably the last person who should offer advice on tennis form (I think there's a video floating around here of me playing and looking incredibly strange), but I also had terrible wrist problems when I started playing seriously and they lasted for years and I eventually had to just overhaul the way I hit the ball. There's no reason to stay with a certain style that is causing an unreasonable amount of pain (heck, even Rafa has made changes in his game since his early glory days).

If he's a good visual learner/mimicker, what I would recommend is finding slow motion clips of top players hitting shots. Much of my groundstroke game is modeled after (man, this is hard to admit) Justine's. I kind of just copied her strokes (it takes a lot of practice, but once it's ingrained in the muscle memory, it feels great) from YouTube videos I watched over and over. Some coaches dissuade players from copying what they see the pros do but I can't think of a good reason why we can't emulate the best.

munchin
04-04-2010, 02:34 PM
And I'm certainly no doctor but maybe he should take it easy on extreme wristiness if it hurts. At this age, I'm not sure what kind of permanent developmental damage could happen????

JTContinental
04-04-2010, 04:22 PM