PDA

View Full Version : Achilles tendonitis - help!

bea26
10-06-2008, 03:19 PM
So I'm self-diagnosing myself here, man is it super sore just above my ankles. I've been playing a lot after being on hiatus for a few months so I think it's overuse. I'm swapping out my sneaks just in case. I'm stretching and icing. Any tips on making it go away quicker or am I doing everything I can? And if I keep playing with they snap as is my worst irrational fear? I had that happen to a doubles partner and it was more gruesome than Friday the 13th.

pamchenko
10-06-2008, 03:51 PM
I don't think you're at increased risk for snapping the tendon just because you may/may not have tendonitis. I tore my Achilles 10 years ago but only had tendonitis for the first time about a year and a half ago.

How bad is it? Can you hear it yet? (Mine was so bad by the time I went to the doctor that my tendon was audibly squeaking when compressed.) If you can hear it, I'd say lay off until you can't and then resume a lighter playing schedule to let it get back in shape. If you can't, I'd just go ahead and cut back the schedule to allow your tendon time to heal and strengthen.

amenssen
10-06-2008, 05:45 PM
I've had major ankle problems for a long time, soccer is killer for ankles. most of the time it hasn't been my achilles, but i once had a very bad achilles problem. It's hard to diagnose over the computer, but what really helped me was to stand on a bench before I played and just lower my heels down to stretch out the tendon. What are your symptoms, does it "tighten" up, as mine did, or what.

bea26
10-06-2008, 06:21 PM
Oh thank God it makes no noise, though I know what you mean - I got it in my wrist from serving like a jackass and it was crunchy and I'm grossed out even thinking about it. No, it's really just super tight and warm. I'm icing and stretching which helps. I just want it to go away but I can be patient. As long as it's not going to snap on me I can deal. :)